Earlier today I saw in Google Analytics that I had gotten referral traffic from link.smartscreen.live.com. I had never heard of it but I was interested in it since it came from live.com.
As the link itself tells us, it’s associated with the Smart Screen Filter. The filter is a new initiative from Microsoft Live Messenger which detect phishing and other malicious websites among.
SmartScreen Filter checks the sites you visit against a dynamic list of reported phishing sites and malicious software sites. If it finds a match, SmartScreen Filter will show you a warning notifying you that the site has been blocked for your safety.
So, in short, when a user clicks a link in Live Messenger they get directed to the Smart Screen. It then evaluates the site and warns the user if a threat is detected.
David Dikman
October 25th, 2011 at 9:20 am
Found myself experiencing the same curiosity. Thanks for the explanation!
Alfred
November 5th, 2011 at 12:22 am
Same here
Thanks bro!
سيمو
November 12th, 2011 at 3:00 pm
هاي
ayearhnede
November 13th, 2011 at 9:20 am
ممكن نتعرف
gabriel sosa
November 19th, 2011 at 5:48 pm
i what to meet you
gabriel sosa
November 19th, 2011 at 5:48 pm
i what to meet you
Christoforos
November 29th, 2011 at 2:55 am
I noticed the same referral today for my site http://www.shineapp.com . What does this mean? Is my site recognized as malicious and it will be blocked? If yes then how can I face this problem, because I don’t think my site is a threat…
Rambash
November 29th, 2011 at 7:37 am
It only means that someone has shared your link on Windows Live Messenger. It doesn’t necessarily mean your site is classed as a threat.
Andrew Jensen
February 17th, 2012 at 11:34 pm
Thanks for the post & research, Rambash. I was wondering the same
Good luck with your law studies, btw!
Jro
February 26th, 2012 at 12:26 pm
Thanks for the explanation. I got the exact same thing. Can you explain something to me though?
I don’t use Live Messenger. So if someone has got a link to my site on there, does that then mean that someone else messaged them that link? So that my site came up in an online conversation or something?
Daniel
April 11th, 2012 at 9:10 am
Thanks for the explanation!
ale
April 12th, 2012 at 1:35 am
thanks!!!!
ale
April 12th, 2012 at 1:37 am
thank you so much for the explanation!!